Weekly Round-Up: July 4, 2014

July 4th, 2014 by Dan Allan

Each Friday, CIVIX provides a digest of the major events in Canadian politics.

The past week was notable not just for its political happenings, but because it included both Canada Day and the beginning of the second annual Canada History Week. Today is also Independence Day for our American friends!

By-election breakdown

Four federal by-elections were held on Monday: Conservative David Yurdiga was elected in Fort McMurray-Athabasca, Conservative John Barlow was elected in Macleod, Liberal Adam Vaughan was elected in Trinity-Spadina and Liberal Arnold Chan was elected in Scarborough-Agincourt. You can view the full results on the Elections Canada website.

Turnout in the by-elections hit an “all-time low,” with only 15.9 per cent of voters casting ballots in Fort McMurray-Athabasca. The new Members of Parliament will be sworn in when the House of Commons returns on September 15th.

Back to work at the Ontario legislature

Ontario MPPs returned to work this week for the first time since last month’s election. MPPs were sworn in on Wednesday and the Speech from the Throne (the final one for outgoing Lieutenant-Governor David Onley) was delivered on Thursday.

In other news, Dave Levac was re-elected as Speaker and Jim Wilson was chosen as interim leader of the Ontario PC (Tim Hudak officially stepped down on Wednesday).

New appointments to the Order of Canada

Governor General David Johnston announced 86 new appointments to the Order of Canada this week, including director David Cronenberg, astronaut Chris Hadfield and comedian Rick Mercer. The Order of Canada was established in 1967 to recognize outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.


New Brunswick heads to the polls in September, but one longtime MLA won’t be running for re-election. Albert MLA Wayne Steeves has announced that he won’t be re-offering. He has represented the riding since 1999.

Elgin-Middlesex-London MP Joe Preston won’t run again the next federal election. He has represented the riding since 2004.

Medicine Hat MP LaVar Payne won’t run for re-election. He was first elected in 2008.

Leadership races

The renewed Newfoundland and Labrador PC leadership race has two new candidates. Topsail MHA Paul Davis has announced that he was throwing his hat into the ring on Wednesday and Municipal Affairs Minister Steve Kent joined the race on Thursday evening. The new leader will be chosen in September.

For ongoing updates, follow us on Twitter at @CIVIX_Canada.

Posted in Weekly Round-Up |

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.


Recent Posts


Facebook  Twitter  Youtube  Pinterest