2013 Municipal Elections in Newfoundland & Labrador and Alberta

June 12th, 2013 by Katie Reidel

In January we gave you a quick introduction to all of the elections that would be taking place across Canada in 2013. We just wrapped up our Student Vote program that coincided with the provincial election in British Columbia, and now we are looking ahead once again. Let’s take a closer look at two of the elections that will be taking place this fall; municipal elections in both Newfoundland & Labrador and Alberta.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Labrador voters had the chance to go to the polls only a few weeks ago for a federal by-election that elected former MHA Yvonne Jones to the House of Commons, and they will soon go to the polls again on June 25 to elect her provincial replacement. But the entire province goes to the polls later this year when they elect their mayors, councillors and school trustees on September 24.

The Department of Municipal Affairs is encouraging everyone to ‘Make Your Mark’ by considering running for office. They have created and gathered resources for potential candidates, youth, women, and schools.

It will be awhile before candidates are officially nominated in many municipalities, but St. John’s mayor Dennis O’Keefe made it clear a year ago that he would be running for re-election in 2013. It is also never too early to check if you are on the voter’s list. You can even do it online in some cities, such as Mount Pearl, Corner Brook, and St. John’s.

St. John’s will also be changing its sign bylaws in advance of the upcoming election. Signs can now only go up 60 days before an election, and signs must come down three days after the vote. Signs cannot be within 20 metres of an intersection and will not be allowed on traffic lights.


Alberta’s two largest cities, Calgary and Edmonton, will attract national attention this October for mayoral elections.

Edmonton’s Stephen Mandel will not be seeking re-election this fall, after three terms as mayor. So far councillor Kerry Diotte has expressed an interest in running to replace Mandel, and MP Peter Goldring has also spoken about the allure of the job. Lethbridge will also be electing a new mayor as Rajko Dodic steps down. Trustee Chris Spearman and Councillor Faron Ellis have announced their candidacy so far.

Calgary’s Mayor Naheed Nenshi is running for re-election, as is Wood Buffalo’s Melissa Blake and St. Albert’s Nolan Crouse.

Some Alberta municipalities are exploring new aspects for their elections. Medicine Hat defeated a motion to define a new role for a Deputy Mayor, intended to reduce stress on the office of the Mayor as the city expands. Wood Buffalo passed a bylaw that defines the size of election signs, intending to limit the distraction to drivers. And several Alberta municipalities have given consideration to online voting, which we have covered extensively in our blogs.

Stay tuned as we cover the Nunavut Territorial Election and Quebec Municipal Elections in Part 2 of this series!


Posted in News |

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.


Recent Posts


Facebook  Twitter  Youtube  Pinterest