Leadership Race Update

August 7th, 2014 by Abhi Saini

Over the next few months, ten political organizations from across Canada will elect new leaders. Here is our breakdown of the latest news surrounding these leadership races.

Newfoundland and Labrador

The Progressive Conservative Party of Newfoundland and Labrador leadership race began when Kathy Dunderdale announced her resignation as the premier and party leader on January 22, 2014. On January 24, 2014, Tom Marshall was sworn in as interim party leader and the province’s 11th premier.

Nominations for the position of party leader closed on July 7, 2014 and Paul Davis, Steve Kent and John Ottenheimer were announced as leadership candidates. The election will take place during the PC leadership convention on September 13, 2014.

Prince Edward Island

Olive Crane stepped down as the leader of PEI PC Party on January 31, 2013. On the same day, Steven Myers was appointed as the party’s interim leader. The PEI PC leadership convention was to be held this fall, but the convention date is being reconsidered now that the next provincial election will be held in 2016.

Nova Scotia

Darrell Dexter stepped down as the leader of the Nova Scotia NDP on November 23, 2013 and Maureen MacDonald was appointed as the party’s interim leader. The leadership election date is yet to be decided. Both Maureen Macdonald and Peter Stoffer have declined to run for the leadership position.


The Parti Québécois leadership race began with Pauline Marois stepping down as PQ leader after her election defeat on April 7, 2014. The PQ caucus chose Stéphane Bédard as the interim party leader. The leadership election date is yet to be decided and the campaigning isn’t expected to start before this fall. Prospective candidates include MNAs Pierre Karl Péladeau, Bernard Drainville and Jean-François Lisée.


Tim Hudak stepped down as the leader of the Ontario Progressive Conservative Party on July 2, 2014. Following his resignation, the PC caucus elected Simcoe-Grey MPP Jim Wilson as the interim leader. Although no date has been decided for the leadership election, preparations have begun to seek a new leader. So far, Whitby-Oshawa MPP Christine Elliot has declared her candidacy and other possible candidates include MPPs Lisa MacLeod, Vic Fedeli and Monte McNaughton.


James Beddome resigned as the leader of the Green Party of Manitoba on November 16, 2013 and Alain Landry was appointed as the interim leader. The date for the leadership election has not yet been decided.


The Progressive Conservative Association of Alberta (PCAA) leadership race began when Alison Redford announced her resignation as the party leader and premier of Alberta on March 19, 2014. On March 20, 2014, caucus members elected Dave Hancock as interim leader and premier.

On June 2, 2014, the PCAA introduced Jim Prentice, Ric McIver and Thomas Lukaszuk as official leadership candidates. The leadership vote will be held on September 6, 2014 in a “two-round” voting system. If no candidate wins a clear majority, the two leading candidates will move to the second round of voting on September 20, 2014.

Alberta’s New Democratic Party leadership race began after Brian Mason announced his resignation as the party leader on April 29, 2014. The leadership election date is set for October 18 and 19, 2014. So far, Edmonton-Calder MLA David Eggen, Edmonton-Strathcona MLA Rachel Notley and former candidate Rod Loyola have declared their candidacy.

British Columbia

The Green Party of BC is still in the process of electing a new party leader.  Jane Sterk stepped down as the party leader on August 13, 2013 and Adam Olsen was appointed as the interim leader. No date has been finalized yet to formally elect the next party leader.

Assembly of First Nations (AFN)

Shawn Atleo resigned as the chief of Assembly of First Nations on May 2, 2014. During the 35th Annual AFN Conference in Halifax, native leaders voted to elect a new leader. Grand Chief David Harper of the Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak said “any of the candidates to replace Mr. Atleo will have to campaign on promises of reform.” The leadership vote will take place in Winnipeg this December.

Which leadership race are you most looking forward to?

Posted in News |

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.


Recent Posts


Facebook  Twitter  Youtube  Pinterest