Weekly Round-Up: March 21, 2014

March 21st, 2014 by Dan Allan

Each Friday, CIVIX provides a digest of the major events in Canadian politics. There are two themes to this week’s Weekly Round-Up: resignations and leadership races.

Alison Redford to resign on Sunday

Alberta Premier Alison Redford announced Wednesday that she would step down on Sunday after several “weeks of expense controversies and questions about her leadership.” The move was also precipitated by the resignations of MLAs Donna Kennedy-Glans and Len Webber from the PC caucus. Redford will stay on as the MLA for Calgary-Elbow.

Alison Redford with the Student Vote team

It was announced yesterday that Deputy Premier Dave Hancock, the MLA for Edmonton-Whitemud, will take over as interim premier. A new leader will be chosen within the next six months. Potential candidates reportedly include former deputy premier Thomas Lukaszuk, Finance Minister Doug Horner, Edmonton-Leduc MP James Rajotte and Calgary Mayor Naheed Nenshi.

Jim Flaherty resigns as Minister of Finance

Jim Flaherty announced on Tuesday that he was stepping down as Canada’s Minister of Finance after serving in the role since 2006. Flaherty will stay on as the MP for Whitby-Oshawa. 

Student Budget Consultation

Flaherty played a large role in our 2013 and 2014 Student Budget Consultation programs, appearing in a series of educational videos on the federal budget. We wish him all the best!

Cabinet shuffles

There was a “mini Conservative cabinet shuffle” as a result of Flaherty’s move: Eglinton-Lawrence MP Joe Oliver becomes the new finance minister, Kenora MP Greg Rickford replaces Oliver as the Minister of Natural Resources and London West MP Ed Holder replaces Rickford as Minister of State for Science and Technology.

NDP leader Thomas Mulcair shuffled his Shadow Cabinet on Thursday afternoon. Most notably, Peter Julian becomes the Opposition House Leader, Peggy Nash takes over Industry and Nathan Cullen becomes the new Finance critic.

Leadership races underway in NL and BC

There are officially three contenders for the Newfoundland and Labrador PC Party leadership race: businessman Frank Coleman, businessman Bill Barry and Howley town councillor Wayne Bennett. The new leader, who will also become the province’s 12th premier, will be selected on July 5th. It was also announced this week that the provincial budget will come down on March 27th.

Branded as “Together for BC,” the BC NDP leadership election was officially launched this week. Juan de Fuca MLA John Horgan entered the race this week, and was replaced as Opposition House Leader by Surrey-Whalley MLA Bruce Ralston. Port Coquitlam MLA Mike Farnworth was the first to enter the race earlier in March. The new leader, who will replace Adrian Dix, will be chosen on September 28th after four days of voting.

For ongoing updates, follow us on Twitter at @CIVIX_Canada.

Posted in Weekly Round-Up |

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.


Recent Posts


Facebook  Twitter  Youtube  Pinterest