Weekly Round-Up: November 22

November 22nd, 2013 by Dan Allan

Each Friday, CIVIX provides a digest of the major events in Canadian politics.

Parliamentarians of the Year

Maclean’s Magazine has released their annual list of Canada’s top MPs, as selected by their peers. Here are the winners:

  • Parliamentarian of the Year: Peter Stoffer (Sackville-Eastern Shore)
  • Rising Star: Hon. Chris Alexander (Ajax-Pickering)
  • Best Orator: Hon. John Baird (Ottawa West-Nepean)
  • Most Collegial: Rodger Cuzner (Cape Breton-Canso)
  • Most Knowledgeable: Hon. Jason Kenney (Calgary Southeast)
  • Best Represents Constituents: Ted Hsu (Kingston and the Islands)
  • Hardest Working: Elizabeth May (Saanich-Gulf Islands)

Party Leadership Update

Alberta Premier Alison Redford faces a leadership review this weekend at the PC annual general meeting. Former Premiers Ralph Klein and Ed Stelmach had their “departures hastened” due to poor support at party leadership races in 2006 and 2009, respectively. Opposition leader Danielle Smith captured 90 per cent support in her Wildrose leadership review last month.

The Newfoundland and Labrador Liberal party chose Dwight Ball as their new leader last weekend on the third ballot. Ball also becomes the Leader of the Opposition. Premier Kathy Dunderdale and the governing PC hold 35 of the 48 seats in the House of Assembly.

The BC NDP will elect their new leader in September 2014. The new leader will replace Adrian Dix, who announced that he would step down following the party’s disappointing loss in the May 2013 election.

The Nova Scotia NDP need a new leader (see below), but it won’t be NDP MP Peter Stoffer. Stoffer, who represents the Sackville-Eastern Shore riding, announced on the Thursday that he won’t be running due to his age.  He believes that younger candidates should seek the top job.


Former Nova Scotia Premier Darrell Dexter will resign effective November 23. Halifax Needham MLA Maureen MacDonald will become the interim leader.

Nova Scotia Conservative Senator Gerald Comeau will resign at the end of the month. Comeau was appointed to the Senate by Prime Minister Brian Mulroney in 1990. Comeau previously served as the MP for West Nova between 1984 and 1988.

Federal by-elections

Do you live in the federal ridings of Toronto Centre, Bourassa, Provencher or Brandon-Souris?  Don’t forget to vote on Monday! Find out more information about where and when to cast your ballot on the Elections Canada by-election website.

For ongoing updates, follow us on Twitter at @CIVIX_Canada.

Posted in Weekly Round-Up |

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.


Recent Posts


Facebook  Twitter  Youtube  Pinterest