Weekly Round-Up: September 27

September 27th, 2013 by Dan Allan

Each Friday, CIVIX provides a digest of the major events in Canadian politics:

Sparks fly at the Nova Scotia leaders’ debate

The Nova Scotia leaders’ debate took place on Wednesday evening with less than two weeks remaining until election day. The leaders traded “plenty of barbs” while discussing issues like power, health care, education and the economy. Columnist Marilla Stephenson believes that PC leader Jamie Baillie won the debate, and a Chronicle Herald editorial argues that a strong performance may “restart” the campaign for NDP Premier Darrell Dexter, who is trailing significantly in the polls to Liberal leader Stephen McNeil.

Candidate nominations closed this week and a total of 176 candidates have been nominated in the province’s 51 electoral districts. The NDP, Liberals and PC are running a full slate of candidates, the Green Party is running candidates in 16 ridings and there will be 7 independents. More than 7,000 Nova Scotians have already cast their ballots.

Newfoundland and Labrador municipal elections

Municipalities in Newfoundland and Labrador went to the polls on Tuesday to elect mayors, councillors and school trustees. Here are some of the notable outcomes:

  • St. John’s Mayor Dennis O’Keefe was easily re-elected, defeating former councillor Sheilagh O’Leary.
  • St. John’s elected a male-only city council. No female candidates were elected.
  • On the opposite end of the spectrum, voters in Marystown elected five new councillors, including four women.
  • Wabana Mayor Gary Gosine was re-elected with more than 50 per cent of the vote, despite spending election night in the hospital recovering from heart surgery.
  • The race for mayor in Placentia was a tight one. Only two votes separated Wayne Power Junior and Bernard Power. A recount gave Wayne Power Junior a four-vote victory.

You can find a breakdown of results from across the province on the CBC “Municipal Votes” website.

Resignations and leadership races

Peterborough MP Dean Del Mastro quit the Conservative caucus yesterday after being charged with intentionally breaking campaign rules during the 2008 federal election. Del Mastro will now sit as an independent in the House of Commons. If convicted, the maximum penalty for each charge is five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

Liberal MPP Kim Craitor resigned this week. Craitor was first-elected in 2003, and also won his Niagara Falls seat in the 2011 Ontario Student Vote. Ontario has already faced five provincial by-elections in 2013, and the by-election to replace Craitor must be called by Premier Kathleen Wynne within the next 6 months.

The Alberta Party has a new leader! Calgary entrepreneur Greg Clark beat computer consultant Troy Millington to become the new leader, receiving 87 per cent of the vote. The Alberta Party was unable to win a seat in the 2012 Alberta provincial election, but then-leader Glenn Clark was elected in the Student Vote.

Political advisor Bob Axworthy joined the Manitoba Liberal leadership race on Wednesday, getting his paperwork filed right before the deadline. Axworthy is the third candidate in the race, joining Dougald Lamont and Rana Bokhari. The new leader will be elected on October 26.

The British Columbia NDP leadership race is unofficially underway! Four NDP MPs from BC are considering making a switch to provincial politics to replace Adrian Dix: Peter Julian, Jinny Sims, Nathan Cullen and Fin Donnelly. The new leader will be chosen in early 2014.

For ongoing updates, follow us on Twitter at @CIVIX_Canada.

Posted in Weekly Round-Up |

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.


Recent Posts


Facebook  Twitter  Youtube  Pinterest