Who We Are

CIVIX, a non-partisan, national registered charity building the skills and habits of citizenship among young Canadians.

Our vision is a strong and inclusive Canada where all young people are ready, willing and able to contribute to their country.

CIVIX was born through a merger between Operation Dialogue and Student Vote – two non-partisan organizations with a significant history of engaging Canadian youth.

Student Vote was founded by Taylor Gunn and Lindsay Mazzucco in 2002 with the purpose of developing habits of informed and engaged citizenship among young Canadians. Student Vote’s flagship program was a parallel election for students under the voting age coinciding with official elections.

Operation Dialogue was founded by the late Warren Goldring of AGF Management in 1999. It was formed to promote good citizenship through information and dialogue with the goal of enhancing each individual Canadian’s appreciation of our country. Operation Dialogue’s flagship program was the annual Talk About Canada Quiz, which invited young Canadians to be more informed about their country.

Operation Dialogue and Student Vote wanted to align their strengths and assets, and work together to achieve a larger vision. Following a collaborative approach during 2011-2012, the organizations formally merged operations in 2013.

Since merging, CIVIX has continued to run the Student Vote program and has developed exciting new programs to reach students between elections.

 

 CIVIX Team Members

Dan Allan, Research and Communications Manager – dan@civix.ca
Natalie Brunet, Program Manager – Rep Day – natalie@civix.ca
Taylor Gunn, President and Chief Election Officer – taylor@civix.ca
Diana MacVey, Operations Manager – diana@civix.ca
Lindsay Mazzucco, Chief Operating Officer – lindsay@civix.ca
Adelina Petit-Vouriot, Program Manager – adelina@civix.ca
Abhi Saini, Research and Program Development Officer – abhi@civix.ca

 

CIVIX Board Members

Francis LeBlanc
President, Canadian Association of Former Parliamentarians Educational Foundation

Michelle Mackenzie
Principal, Back Staff Strategic Solutions

Michael MacMillan
Samara Canada; Closson Chase

Bob Medland
CFO, CNSX

Chris Wilkins – Chair
CEO, Edge Interactive