Who We Are

CIVIX is a non-partisan, national registered charity dedicated to building the skills and habits of active and engaged citizenship among young Canadians. Our vision is a strong and inclusive democracy where all young people are ready, willing and able to participate.

CIVIX was born through a merger between Operation Dialogue and Student Vote – two non-partisan organizations with a significant history of engaging Canadian youth.

Student Vote was founded by Taylor Gunn and Lindsay Mazzucco in 2002 to develop the capacity for informed and engaged citizenship among young Canadians. Student Vote parallel elections were organized for students under the voting age coinciding with official elections.

Operation Dialogue was established by the late Warren Goldring of AGF Management in 1999 to promote good citizenship through information and dialogue with the goal of enhancing each individual Canadian’s appreciation of our country. Its flagship program was the annual ‘Talk About Canada Quiz,’ which encouraged young Canadians to be more informed about their country.

Operation Dialogue and Student Vote aligned their strengths and assets and worked together to achieve a larger vision. Following a collaborative approach during 2011-2012, the organizations formally merged operations in 2013 and created CIVIX.

Since 2013, CIVIX has continued to run the Student Vote program and has developed exciting new programs to reach students between elections.


CIVIX Team Members

National office:

Dan Allan, Director of Content – dan@civix.ca 
Mike Doyle, Curriculum Development Officer – mike@civix.ca 
Frédérique Dombrowski, Outreach and Stakeholder Manager – frederique@civix.ca 
Taylor Gunn, President and Chief Election Officer – taylor@civix.ca 
Mélissa Gutiérrez, Program Coordinator melissa@civix.ca
Tracy Lopes,
Donor Engagement Coordinator – tracy@civix.ca
Diana MacVey
, Director of Operations – diana@civix.ca 
Lindsay Mazzucco, Chief Operating Officer – lindsay@civix.ca
Abhi Saini
, Research and Program Development Officer – abhi@civix.ca

Québec office

François Bourque, Gestionnaire de programme – francois@civix.quebec
Catherine McDonald, 
Directrice – catherine@civix.quebec


CIVIX Board Members

Chris Wilkins – Chair
CEO, Edge Interactive

Peter Donolo
Vice-Chairman, Hill+Knowlton Strategies Canada

Michelle Mackenzie
Principal, Back Staff Strategic Solutions

Michael MacMillan
Samara Canada; Closson Chase

Bob Medland
Former CFO, CSNX