At the end of last school year CIVIX put out a call for nominations for educators who have championed CIVIX programming in their schools, and gone above and beyond in their practices of civic education. 

Our plan was to recognize 20 exceptional teachers as part of our 20th anniversary. The response was overwhelming, and the CIVIX team was humbled to read about the extraordinary contributions of teachers across the country.

Today we are thrilled to share the list of 20 CIVIX Ambassadors: 

  • Jennifer Keay, Hilltop High School, Whitecourt, Alberta
  • Neeta Kumar-Britten, Ferrisview Elementary, Cape Breton, Nova Scotia
  • Michele Cumberland, Holy Cross School, Penicton, British Columbia
  • Jean-Pierre Bélanger, Collège Clarétain, Victoriaville, Québec
  • Brennan Caverhill, Bishop Macdonell, Toronto, Ontario
  • Alistair King, Dover Bay Secondary School, Nanaimo, British Columbia
  • Christine Penrose, Barrie North Collegiate, Barrie, Ontario
  • Elena Wiens, Grant Park High School, Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Noémie Gagné, Le Bois-Vivant, Gaspésie, Québec
  • Laura McCarron, Fredericton High School, Fredericton, New Brunswick
  • Stuart Mutch, Saunders Secondary School, London, Ontario
  • Jeremy Reid, Westsyde Secondary School, Kamloops, British Columbia
  • Melissa Hopkins, Lakeshore School, Calgary, Alberta
  • Anne Quesnelle, Ste-Marie, Greater Sudbury, Ontario
  • Mark Glor, Linden Christian School, Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Charlene O’Hanley, CDC Lachute, Lachute, Québec
  • Katie Glover, Brookswood Secondary School, Langley, British Columbia
  • Christina McKay, Sacred Heart, Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • Oluyemi Adegbite, Earnscliffe Senior Public School, Brampton, Ontario
  • Ted Mukhar, St. Mary’s Secondary School, Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario

Their short biographies are now posted at

We are proud to be celebrating the accomplishments of each person on this list — each is doing something special in their classroom. 

Every week for the next 20 weeks, we will post a new profile on the CIVIX anniversary website and as well as Twitter and Instagram, to showcase their approaches to civic education. 

We would also like to thank everyone who was nominated, or put forward a nomination, as well as the thousands of teachers across the country who bring democracy and politics to life for their students every day.